There’s something deeply satisfying about finishing. Finishing is a battle. I’ve learned I hate my art and my writing most right before I turn the corner and finish. 

It’s a struggle to stay with a project I think is nothing more than tripe, fit for no eyes or ears lest the looker/listener cry out in pain from the hideousness of it all (dramatically collapses on fainting chaise lounge).

The satisfying part is when I push and finally see the ugly duckling turn into a swan. There’re few better feelings than signing a piece of art work or seeing one’s byline in print because finishing is incredibly satisfying. 

The painting above is one I began a month or so ago. I showed a picture of it halfway finished at the I-fucking- hate-this-painting-and-can’t-believe- I’ve-wasted-so-much-time-on-it  (dramatic foot stomp and pout) stage. Truth be told that blog, entitled Finding A-MUSE-ment, was written, in part, to help me find the strength to power through and finish!

The finished painting above is titled Espressoscape as I cured the canvas in roughly 10 layers of coffee and espresso to start. I then used both coffee, espresso and acrylic ink for about another 10 layers for both light and dark areas, the shadows were laid in last with about 5 layers of espresso. It smells like the dreams of a Gilmore Girl❤❤❤

It was a really interesting project as I was making it up as I went along. I’m working on another similar and experimental piece where the canvas is cured in a combo of coffee, espresso and red wine. I’ll let you know how it works out😊

K

