Being creative doesn’t always come naturally and even if it does, from time to time, every artist finds themselves uninspired. A creative block, writers block, missing muse… call it what you will, if you feel this way it can be tough to snap out of. Here are a few tips for getting that creative mojo back!

Here’s a small sample of a piece I’ve been working on for weeks. I’m not always sure where it’s going but I’m learning from it and I know I can see it through to finished if I persist. 

Grind it Out – Keep drawing, keep writing, keep dancing, just keep at it. Keep grinding away and you’ll soon get back on track.

Try setting a timer and don’t stop grinding it out until time is up. It may feel as though nothing produced during this time will be of use but you’ll likely be surprised. Often I’ve been able to push through in this manner and I then find myself feeling re-energized and inspired.

Practice Every Day – In order to succeed the only way to improve is with practice, practice, practice. If you want to write spend some time each day either reading or writing or both. 

You needn’t stick to your main project and its research, any sort of practice helps. Play with writing prompts for both fiction and non. Try reading a wide and unusual array of books. Even try subjects you think you’ve no interest in. You never know what may strike your fancy and inspire you to new find unique new ideas and initiatives. 

Try Something Different– If you write try painting. If you paint try dancing. If you choreograph try poetry. Switching from one creative medium to try out another doesn’t mean abandoning your art of choice. On the contrary, by trying another medium you expand your horizons and will likely find inspiration to take back to your choice medium… who knows, you might even find another choice medium.

Give Yourself a Break – That’s right folks… you heard it here first. NOBODY is ON all the time. Honestly; I garuntee even the most successful folks out there falter from time to time because they’re human and so are you. 

It’s OK to rest and recharge. We all feel uninspired from time to time and that’s OK. It’s OK as long as we keep picking back up and trying again and again. 

As an artist (holy-pretentious-sentence-stater-Bat Man!), I have often felt like I’ve reached the end of my creative life and I’ll never find my muse again. Fortunately my muse isn’t as mellow dramatic as I and has never failed to return and gift me with another idea, another spark, and that’s all it takes before I’m off and running with another project.

There’s always more creativity left to find, the trick is to persist. So keep kicking down doors until you find where your muse is hiding and take back your mojo!

K

